Should I assemble my armor, or pay for the assembly?

Hermanator

This is my first build; although I have experience molding, cutting, and sanding my Mandalorian armor (sintra armor, resin helmet, and ABS gauntlets).  I've been reviewing some of the HOW-TO's, Builds, and finished armor sets.  This all helps, but I'm still left with the question:

Should I assemble the ABS armor myself, or should I pay for it to be assembled?  I would obviously like to save a large chunk of money by building it myself; but at the same time, I have no experience with it.  I don't plan to build multiple kits, but who knows what the future holds.

Are TK kits (such as TM) hard to build to Centurion level with screen accurate attachment methods?  Am I going to be racking my brain trying to get this built as well as he does it?

I'm selling off a good portion of my collectibles in order to save for the kit, so the money does not come easy... but it is obtainable eventually.

i.e. get the kit sooner and build it myself, or spend more money and get it later.. to have someone with more experience build it for me?

My only concern with the armor builder building it for me is that.. I'm not there for fitting.  Measurements can do a lot, but they aren't the same as being physically present for fitting.  At the same time, TK armor might just need measurements for a great fit... I don't know the answer to that.

Thank you all!!

Hmm, being a total novice myself, any advice on the build will have to come from others.

I ordered mine built by TM, on my meassurements with no possibility to try it on before finished. I must say that it is a perfect fit, and it is build to meet all CEN specs, and then some...

I am totally ecstatic about my TM armour, so having TM build it for you should, IMHO, not cause you any concern whatsoever!......

Edited by SorenM