Carbon Fiber E-11 Build

usaeatt2

Hi guys!

I've been sitting on this for a few months, but Ian (Sith Lord) and Brian (Bulldog44) have inspired me with their INCREDIBLE DD builds.

This will be a mish-mash of extra parts and some learning, since I've never worked with this material before.

I'm very comfortable with metal working, but NOT so much with composites, resins and plastics.

First up is the basis of the build from "carbonfibertubeshop.com":

Item# LG1430F - 1.5" OD x 1.375" ID x 0.060 wall carbon fiber tube - roll wrapped fabric = $96.19 USD + shipping and handling.

It weighs 0.181 lbs/foot.  That means I'd need about 5-1/2 feet of the stuff to equal 1 pound.

RmtAgHZ.jpg

Expensive?  Yes.

Light?  Lighter than titanium tubing.  Side by side, it makes my PVC pipe feel like lead.

Strong?  Many times stronger than steel by weight.

Cool?  I think so now, but we'll see how the machining operations go...

It sure is fun to look at all those microscopic fibers under deep gloss resin!

qogSCTo.jpg

I started by cutting templates with a fresh razor blade along a steel ruler.

I laid out the templates and taped off the first cut.

I'm going leave a little extra and sand to length (in case the resin chips out along the cut line).

It37ea2.jpg

That's all for tonight...sorry!  Too much at stake here to start cutting when I'm tired.

'Interstellar' tomorrow night and picking up a new dog Saturday morning.

Maybe another update Saturday evening...  :)   Stay tuned!

Aaron

• Like 2

Wow Aaron,

what a freaky idea!!! The structure of the carbon fibre really looks nice (and very individual). What a shame it needs to get painted black at some later point - or do you plan to leave it visible? :shok:

I am very exited to see how this build will go on...

You mentioned "mish-mash of extra parts" so will the other parts be made from metal or resin, plastic...?

• Like 1

I think you need to go full real parts! If you go, go big.