Clearance = fail

Just got word back from the UK garisson regarding my armour. I failed my clearance. :(

It's got some issues that need fixing.

Apparently the FOREARMS and BACK need to be sorted. They're too big.

Now the back isn't too much of an issue. I think if I just heat up the shoulders and have it sit closer to my body, it'll be alright. Maybe add some elastic that connects the back to the front might pull it in a bit.

Forearms are the problem. I've glued the forearms closed with a covering strip on the inside and outside.

I used E-6000. So can I somehow prise them apart or take the strips off so I can make them tighter on my arms?

Can't afford to buy new forearms, so I'll have to mod the ones I have.

I've included some pics that might help illustrate the problem and you guys' be able to offer some pro tips.

23UDbdB.jpg

rHvsByf.jpg

Edited by gmrhodes13
photo updated gmrhodes13 2021

Hi Ricky. Sorry to hear about the fail. I'm no expert at all but I am in the process of strapping myself. Could you not just get the back to sit tighter to you by making the webbing shoulder straps shorter?

Good luck mate.

Hi Ricky. Sorry to hear about the fail. I'm no expert at all but I am in the process of strapping myself. Could you not just get the back to sit tighter to you by making the webbing shoulder straps shorter?

Good luck mate.

Yeah that's what I'll try to do. Heat up the shoulder bits on the back and then have the whole thing sit tighter to my back. I could feel that it was a bit loose, but didn't know for sure if it was so bad that it'd be a fail. It's an easier fix than the forearms - those are the things I'm most concerned about. Really not sure how to pull off the strips without damaging the forearms or cracking them or something. I can't just cut off the strips either, I really do need to get the strips off, cut more off the top portion of the forearms and make sure they're tighter, but not so tight I can't get my hands in.