Phlopsy's ANH TK Build Thread (RS Armor Kit)

Phlopsy

Good evening gents,

I became a cadet in Garrison Carida this past February and I'm thrilled to have met such a welcoming group of folks! I've been watching the original trilogy since I could walk, probably like many of you. :)

I was also super psyched this past Thursday, because at long last, after saving money for months, I finally received my armor kit from RS Prop Masters. You probably already know the Christmas morning feeling of opening up the Big Brown Box, so I won't belabor the point. Suffice to say it made me uber happy.

So I figure it's the right time to start a build thread. This is my first time doing something like this so I think it will be a painstaking process, but I'm committed to getting there.

I commissioned the bucket a few months ago but I'll be building the armor myself - likely with the help of a few of my garrison mates who have generously offered to lend their time and expertise.

Some initial observations after playing around with the parts: I'm 5'11" and about 160 pounds. It feels like the chest, ab/cod, butt, kidney and back plates roughly fit my frame pretty decently. I think those will mostly require tweaking and finesse to get right. The limbs are definitely too long and I'll need to remove some material there. I also have skinny arms and I'm swimming in the arm parts as delivered, so that will require significant attention.

Anyway, this is where we are. I think I'm going to start with small parts like the thermal detonator and ab plates, in case I mess something up in my first foray in ABS cutting it won't be too difficult to get a fresh start. :D

Edit: I'm a noob at adding pics, I'll get it right in a few...I think...

Edit again: There it is :)

zBON70c.jpg

Q0Y1WtJ.jpg

Edited by Phlopsy
Pics added
  • Like 1