Rubber Resin DLT-19 Build

This is my first build thread ever so bear with me. I recently received this kit I purchased off the main legion boards. The reason I chose this one over the others is because of the material it's made out of. Since it's made of a rubber-like resin material, it won't shatter like regular resin and still shows good detail. Besides durability and detail, I also wanted a blaster that could eventually be modded with electronics and other things. So after discovering this kit I immediately ordered it. I realized as soon as I got it that I'm in a little over my head.

I decided to start a build thread in order to seek help from all of you because I'm new to this sort of thing and don't know much  :laugh1:

A couple questions... what's the best way to have the blaster be able to split into two parts for transportation without having to worry about the barrel falling off in the middle of a troop? And would a Hyperdyne Labs lighting kit be able to be integrated into this?

Any help would be extremely appreciated! 

Here is what I got straight out of the box

10615808_681061788639213_1327724229_n_zp

And here is my progress so far, basically just cut off most of the excess resin with a hobby knife. I'm going to use a dremel next and then start sanding. 

10596141_681061781972547_1543904282_n_zp

10615803_681061785305880_949931393_n_zps

If you all want better photos or to see something specific just let me know. I'll be posting more as this comes together. And thanks in advance for any advice!  :)

Edited by 2thin
  • Like 1

Thanks! There aren't many tutorials for this sort of thing, I eventually gave up looking and decided to just ask for advice directly. I'm bound to mess up on some things so don't follow too closely lol  If anyone has this same kit, are the pieces supposed to be kind of sticky? I'm assuming once painted they obviously won't feel that way anymore. 

• Like 1