Bryanmc's Build Thread - Complete Newbie

Hello, my name is Bryanmc and I've never built a TK.  

<Hi, Bryan!>

I'm a 501st ESB Vader and my brief history is that I planned to do a OT TK as my next build but put my name on the TFA TK list, got my kit and I'm now starting the build.  Which I understand is going to be tough.  The good news is if I get through this the OT TK should be easier, right?

I've memorized just about all the build threads here, so I think I've got a foundation to start from but I will most certainly post some newbie questions here so I appreciate all the help/support.

When I took out all the plastic pieces last night and inventoried them, this was my reaction:

449FE0F7-9D52-4233-9234-4272FA77265D.jpg

I started rough cutting some pieces, going back and forth between scissors and the Dremmel, trying to see which I prefer.  My arms are a little sore this morning, after only about 2 hours of cutting.

First two questions: 

1.  Was I supposed to get some kind of glue in my gaskets box from Anovos?  I think I'm going to sew my gaskets but I've seen some mention of glue that was included by some folks.

2.  I've got a belt sander (I basically purchased everything from ukswrath's supply list) and I've used it to sand my cod piece just to try it out. Works fine but never having built a TK, or any plastic costume, I'm not sure how fine to make the edge.  For a standalone piece like the cod should I really make it smooth with a high grit?  I'll post a pic later today of what I did with the belt sander so you can let me know what it needs.

Thanks for all the help, I'm excited about this build. 

• Like 2

Hey there brother, you're in good hands, and you know that I'm just a short drive away and will be beginning my own build relatively soon as well.    Yes, compared to this, the OT TK will be pretty simple.  

1.  Yes.  I have it in my kit, but I'm thinking I'm just going to use CA glue for them as others have done.