Help Needed: Return edges

Okay, so after taking a look at the FX chest plate mod and return edge tutorial, I decided I MUST do the same to get my TK looking right.

I bought a hobby iron from my local hobby store, only $23 and man let me tell you, there are certain tools that pay for their investment with almost each use, first was my dremel and secondly is my heat sealing iron. It can really give your armor a much higher quality and finished look. If you havent already done so, PICK ONE UP! You'll be glad you did!

Here are a couple good ones I would recommend:

entry level:

http://www.hobbypeople.net/index.php/global-custom-heat-sealing-iron.html

superb:

http://www.hobbypeople.net/index.php/coverite-21st-century-iron.html

So my first attempt was my chest plate, say goodbye oversized FX (literally hanged down all the way over my belt, i really didnt have an option)

So I am a total noob with return edges so I need a few tips from those experienced ones of you. Be easy on me, I'm giving it my best effort to get my very first kit up to par with some of you pros (*cough* pandatrooper)

Here's what i'm working with:

OPzFxJ5.jpg

RVIP8Tx.jpg

NVOqz3M.jpg

lpK1cOu.jpg

My question is how do you guys get this totally smooth? I got sandpaper from 180-1500 grit with buff and was to bring back the shine, still has a dull look though!

Edited by gmrhodes13
photo updated gmrhodes13 2021

Purchased the same hobby iron. Attempted a return edge on FX shoulder bells but didn't seem to get it. Can you explain a bit in detail how you used the hobby iron on the armor. I tried holding it in one spot to see if it would start bending back but it didn't, seemed more to just flatten the edge more. What did you do?

On 9/19/2012 at 12:42 PM, darthnayce1138 said: