The Thighs

I am at the thighs portion of my armor and I watched Daves 4 part video set on this topic but something wasnt covered that im still curious about, even after looking around for tips.

How big should they be?

How are they held on?

When I tape both of mine together, One is actually bigger than the other. They arent exactly round so Im dealing with that too.

Hopefully this will help out anyone else who has scratched their head on this one as well..

i think that most people are inserting foam block's on the inside to keep in place or adding velcro to the inside of the armour and on the undersuit.

I could be wrong but it the most common way that i've seen would like to help you out more.

(i'm still a newb)

i'll see if i can fin some pic's

For the thighs I did a test fit and then trimmed them. Since the thighs are large enough for you to fit your foot through, I would suggest gluing both sides. Some guys glue the front then use velcro on the back, like the calves, but I prefer the whole thing glued.

As for install and support, I use a garter belt system and clips inside. Similar to the instructions, except using nylon and straps. Makes them adjustable, and keeps them from bouncing the way elastic does. I think Ruf Terrain (Steve) has a great visual of this on his web site, and I copies what he did for this part of my armor (Thanks Steve!!).

-----

One you get them on, if they are trimmed to fit close to your legs, I do not think you will need to worry much about them moving, but the foam inserts would help if it is still an issue.

Hope this helps,

:trooper:

Edited by gmrhodes13
link not working, removed gmrhodes13 2020