ANH Sniper Plate issue

8BitBry

Disclaimer #1: Noob here, I ordered a "ready-to-modify" kit from AP.

Disclaimer #2: I have beefy calves.

Disclaimer #3: I had to take the shin apart and reassemble with a shim at the front and a 25mm cover strip for sizing.

post-17726-0-32237800-1356905433.jpg

So everything's pretty good with sizing now and I'm trying to reattach the sniper plate. The placement sucked to begin with so I'm trying to fix it.

post-17726-0-85281500-1356905473.jpg

The problem I have is that with the alignment of the plate - it flairs to my "stage left" slightly.

I'm wondering if this is a defect or if this is normal placement.

It feels like it's wrong or could be tweaked slightly to straighten up a bit.

Thoughts?

post-17726-0-05623000-1356905475.jpg

The problem I have is that with the alignment of the plate - it flairs to my "stage left" slightly.

I'm wondering if this is a defect or if this is normal placement.

From what I've been told it's not normal placement but it is something that does happen a bit with the AP sniper plate. We had a similar problem with my plate (also AP) and opted to make it level, even though that would mean it would not align up 100% like it should. I would, if I were you, bring the (for the viewer) right side a little bit up (so when wearing it would be the left side (or outer side)) and/or the other side a little bit down so it is more aligned. You might even want to make use of a heatgun to get it better fitted.

In the end it looks much better aligned :)

I had all sorts if trouble with mine, I could get it to sit straight but then it wouldn't follow the angle of the shin, again with the use of my trusty friend "the heat gun" I managed to fiddle a bit and won in the end