Armor is on its way

Hey all, I'm sure there is a billion posts like this, so i figured I start another :P I am brand new to armor building and my very first FX kit is on its way. I would really like to get everything right the first time I put it all together. I've looked at the various resources and tutorials all over the place, but I do have one great question: What should I do now, before the armor gets here, to get myself ready for the build. Looking around it seems that the snap system is the way I am going to go, so pretend that I have no tools what so ever and please point me in the right direction. Thanks!

Hey Rob!!

Now what you mean, all this energy and nerves are building up :wacko: What i did was do an inventory of all the tools and nic nacks i had, and double crossed them with all the tools i saw people was useing. A Dremel was Priceless!!!!! cant stress that enuff!!!!! I used snaps and dont regret it one sec, and was lucky enuff to brorow a professional snap tool from a tailor friend and that helped alot, i do know there are snap tool kits that dont run for to much. I also made a ( arrenged) a file system with pictures, web pages and all thing that have to do with the armor i was going for ANH. And one advice i do give you is take your time, enjoy your self, and talk to your local 501st buddys, i wish i hads some down here.

Any way Hope to see the progress.

TK_MD

Had a heck of a time finding a snap setter anvel arround town. But I did find this online and it works very well. I picked up the kit and a few extra bags of snaps with it. The only problem is that the bags are labeled 6 each when there is the right amount of pieces, just not enugh to make 6 compleat snaps.

------

Edited by gmrhodes13
link not working, removed gmrhodes13 2020

Check all the tips in the Basic training sections of the board. The hotest tips are pinned at the top so they are easy to find.