Another Shepperton hot mess

DarthVoltron

So I was a newb when I ordered by Hero ensemble for Shepperton Studios.  I know better now, but I have a bad habit of doing stupid things so that others don't have to.

I've been poking around the forums for a bit and it looks like I've got some decisions to make.

1. The Shepperton Hero helmet offer terrible visibility, even after I replaced the bubble lenses.  I'm going to need to a stunt helmet.  I'm loathe to give them more of my money, but I also want the colors to match.
  2. Obviously the Shepperton has accuracy issues, but it's also very difficult to get around in.  I am completely unable to bend my knees, which makes it impossible to interact wit kids.  Is this normal, or should I be looking to mod or get into another suit altogether?
  3. I've replaced the rubber gloves with fabric ones.  Much nicer, but I have a feeling that's not CRL-Kosher,

Anyway, since I'm not spoiled for time, I'm trying to decide if I should pass this project along to another fan, and go for an RS Propmasters instead, or do the work, order the replacement pieces to fix it.

Thoughts, mocking and I-told-you-so's are welcome. 

• Like 1

Welcome to FISD ED!

Rubber gloves are generally only for higher levels of approval, many wear NOMEX gloves for trooping instead which are fine for basic 501st approval.

As to sizing, yes you can indeed mod your armour to improve walking.

Mobility cuts on the rear similar to what they actually did for the films is definitely permissible, but if parts are too long then you can trim them down.

Thighs you would trim from the top, Calves you would trim from the bottom if that makes sense.

Perhaps if you can add some photos we can give some better advice as well, but check out this gallery below

Bubble lenses are notoriously difficult to see through with little are to focus through, which is par for the course with Hero TK buckets in general.

Stunt lenses are easier for sure.