Need some ATA Helmet advice

I am trying to fix the front of the helmet onto the lid.  When I try to fit the face onto the lid it seems there is a gap at the sides. 

-My major issue is assuring that I have the two pieces fit correctly before I commit and drill holes in the sides (SCARRY!)

And advice for this??????

-How do you get the two pieces to stay put.  I tried clamps but the plastic drifts around under them anyway. 

Look over my photos and tell me if you see anything wrong.

IMG_2724.jpg

I swear I only cut a little off, see the first photo. Much less than in Pandatroopers how to series where he builds up the first ATA helmet.  See how little I cut off the ends of the lid?

IMG_2725.JPG

"Sometimes"  I get a big gap right at the bottom of the two halves, and sometimes I do not.  It's really-really hard to find the sweet spot for this to fit together.

IMG_2734.jpg     IMG_2731.jpg

Other times I get this fit which is the only reason I haven't freaked out yet. I think it's juts a matter of getting it right.

This is the best fit I have been able to achieve so far...Even here one side is a rotated a little too far forward and I have room to rotate the face back to hide that gap in the left hand photo.  I just need to figure out how to connect the parts when the alignment is like this.  Is there some bending and pulling of parts together to get it all to work?   Doesn't look like they just lay into each other and fit naturally.

IMG_2732.jpg

And the front....

IMG_2728.JPG

And how about the bottom? Isn't it a bit crooked?  how do you resolve this?  Is this OK????

THANK YOU EVERYONE!

Russell

Edited by russellr2d2