Pallados Posted April 26, 2011 Report Posted April 26, 2011 Hey, all. I'm NOT looking at this to buy, but *ALMOST* got suckered into this before I found FISD. (thought process was "I'll just pay $1500 and have it all done for me." Yeah, I know better now). http://cgi.ebay.com/English-Star-Wars-Life-Size-Costume-Stormtrooper-Armor-/310307130438?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item483fbf0c46 I'm curious to know what kind of armor this was derrived from? I'm not experienced enough to be able to glance at the photos and say "that's a -blah-" yet. Is it an FX recast? I've looked around the first page or so of this "eBay Armor" forum and couldn't find any info on it. Ad states "The armour is 501st approved", which I now know means ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I got confused when it states "It is a fully assembled kit!" and then later says "Directions where to download the instructions". Huh?! Quote
JoeR Posted April 26, 2011 Report Posted April 26, 2011 Looks like the FX kit which was derived from a fan sculpt by a guy called GF in Canada. Quote
dashrazor Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 well it does say the O2 canister is the movie accurate tube type with no silver strips arg Quote
snoopy trooper[TK] Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 for that price it bast come with a hot chick in it Quote
Darth Hilarious Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 It's an FX recast, the same kit that 'Treckfreek' sells. Look at the pics closely, there's two left shins. Quote
Eric Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 Look at the pics closely, there's two left shins. that's why it's 5% off. haha Quote
Darth Hilarious Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 that's why it's 5% off. haha I'd be laughing with you if I didn't have one of these... <_< At least I bought mine as kit and only paid $400 for it. Don't drink and Ebay, kids. Quote
BananoPower22[TK] Posted April 27, 2011 Report Posted April 27, 2011 Ugh, it really disgusts me every time I see a sell like this and people fall for it and spend all that money, when they could get a really good armor for a 3/4 of that price (i'm not sure if it's right, i'm not good at math.. ) Quote
Mullreel Posted April 28, 2011 Report Posted April 28, 2011 I looked through his ebay store, and he has a sandtrooper for sale too. It looked a little better but he is selling it for 2500 bucks. OUCH You could get a complete one off of MEPD for less than that. On a side note the actual store is in Dallas so I might have to go by there some day just to see the vintage toys. Quote
TrooperMedic[TK] Posted May 20, 2011 Report Posted May 20, 2011 I bought an FX kit off of "Stormtrooper Shop UK", is this the same seller or a completely different animal?? Yes, I know Ebay = BAD, but I put it down as being new and not knowing any better. But I wasnt crazy enough to drop that kind of cash Quote
Darth Hilarious Posted May 22, 2011 Report Posted May 22, 2011 I bought an FX kit off of "Stormtrooper Shop UK", is this the same seller or a completely different animal?? Yes, I know Ebay = BAD, but I put it down as being new and not knowing any better. But I wasnt crazy enough to drop that kind of cash Check the shins. If there's two lefties, it's the same guys. Quote
TK6540UKG Posted May 26, 2011 Report Posted May 26, 2011 Stormtrooper Shop UK and onetofivedayauctions are completely different sellers.. The first is UK based, the other US. Onetofivedayauctions is a well know scammer to the vintage toy collectors. You can find many things about him on Rebelscum forums.. Real name is Shaun Neinast. Very surprised he has gone into the costuming side of things... Either way, with both sellers. It is STAY AWAY as it's thin recast FX/AP/TE derivitive rubbish. Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.