New ATA Helmet build and lessons learned....

TKheehaw

Howdy!

Another newbie here.. Quick intro: Watched a movie in 77' and have been a nut about it ever since. Really enjoyed it when my folks took me to see a guy in a Darth Vader suit a year later. 

Have been looking into getting / building stormtrooper armor for some time and kinda wish I would have stumbled onto this website before I purchased an E-bay recast kit.

post-18684-0-26878800-1370347528_thumb.jpg

Didn't turn out too bad and it was a good learning tool for the ATA helmet kit that just arrived yesterday. 

post-18684-0-45323900-1370347711_thumb.jpg

Very impressed with the thickness of ATA's material and vacuum forming skills to get the tube bottoms good and uniform.

Thread may be slow as my wife and I are in the middle of building a house... 

Would also like to give thanks to Trooperbay and Panda trooper for all their work that went into the tutorials they have posted. Kudos Guys!

post-18684-0-00552000-1370352197_thumb.jpg

post-18684-0-69175300-1370352235_thumb.jpg

Edited by bluetick450r

Hello and welcome aboard, lots of helpful people here and tutorials, good luck with the ATA lid :D

As far as helmet construction goes... are the number of rivets used to attach the lid and mask sections together relevant?? 

And does the mesh size of the screen in the hovi-tips matter??  Noticed there is a variation between a few mic-tip producers.

As usual with forums, any comments, suggestions, questions are welcome.

Edited by bluetick450r

You can use as many rivets as you like as long as they are not visible from the outside. There are a couple of mesh which aren't acceptable, just pm Locitus for exactly which ones to use and the correct hovi's. mainly for the higher levels, EIB and Centurion, have you thought of building to those standards ? It's much easier to do from the start and really not s lot of extra work. Good luck with the build be waiting to see your progress :)