A little more work on my ATA suit

Well finally had a decent day to start primering some of the parts and took the time this morning to finish putting my helmet together. I still haven't gotten the shins done or all the strips added down the arms and legs, but those will get done over the next two weeks I hope.

I have to say the helmet has come together better than I thought it was going to a few days ago!

dcusLmB.jpg

OlXVZQK.jpg

Edited by gmrhodes13
photos updated gmrhodes13 2021

I'm using a Krylon white primer. It was about 65 -68 degrees when I started painting and I was having a little problem with the paint building up on the front of the nozzle and when I shook the can it was ending up on my finger, so by the time I stopped, my finger was glued to the can lol. Overall I think it is working out ok, I just need some wet sanding and then the gloss coat. I'm using Rustolium High Performance Gloss White.

Thanks Gos! It could be better ( I trimmed too much from the ears before I had the helmet assembled). Now for some wet sanding and a warm enough day to gloss it!

The ears look fine, if your worried about the bottem part sticking out just do what I did and glue it down clamp it and let it dry for 2 days for a good hold.

Or use some white caulk. How come I didn't think of that....doh! Heh

The ears look fine, if your worried about the bottem part sticking out just do what I did and glue it down clamp it and let it dry for 2 days for a good hold.

Or use some white caulk. How come I didn't think of that....doh! Heh

No the bottom of the ears look ok, need a little bit of sanding there, I just hate the gaps on the side.