How to Join the 501st Imperial Legion?

For the longest time it's been an idle fantasy of mine to get involved in the process of putting together my very own suite of quality stormtrooper armor. Recently (most notably with the approach of GenCon Indy) this idle fantasy has become more concrete for me. Now I know there is information out there, and I have looked but I have little to no experience in any sort of costuming let alone the more challenging process of building and/or acquiring stormtrooper armor and was wondering if I could prevail upon the knowledgible members of this community to help me begin this process.

Overall I guess what i'm asking is if you have any advice how a beginner who doesn't have a very large bank account to break could start on the road to becoming a certified 501st Legion member. I am afraid to say that I'm completley flabbergasted when it comes to what the particular difference is between say a FX kit or TE2 kit, or an AP kit (really these are just abbreviations that i've picked up on the forum and places like Ebay, I don't actually know what i'm talking about.

For a beginner who doesn't have a lot of green to burn, what would be a good start? Is their an easy way? Is their a harder but cheaper way? Should I built it myself with a vacuuform machine (sp) I guess what i'm trying to say is that i'm willing to learn, but i've spent so long thinking about it by myself that I don't think i'm ever going to do it unless I get some motivation from people who've actually accomplished the dream! :D

Welcome. Your in the right spot.

First contact FBJ, (firebladejedi) he is the det armor expert.

Then start looking around the forums on information, pictures and builds from members blazing your new found trail.

Then decide on budget, skill and time.

In time you will tell the difference between them all. Welcome to the obsession. ;)

Remember... The golden rule of props.

1. Cheap (I use this term loosely)

2. Accurate

3. Fast