Latex handguards gluing to rubber gloves fail

Well, i was gluing my latex handguards to my rubber gloves, was going good until this happened.

roPlqtl.jpg

Was wiping the excess CA glue that began to run, rag got glued to my glove, and tore my glove :/

This is my first time gluing handguards to gloves, so if you could so kindly......PLEASE HELP!

I got about 50% of the handguard glued up to this point, is there a way to remove the handguard(i used CA glue with a prep marker)?

Is there a way to possibly repair the hole in the glove(these are AP's rubber gloves)?

Or am i basically SOL and needing to either buy another set of handguards, or just buy them already glued from trooperbay?

So freakin frustrated....

You can save the handguards... Try to remove them but if they stick or look like they're going to tear, cut them free of the gloves.

Take some fine grit sandpaper to the backs, and be sure to tack down one corner while you're wearing them, and glue the whole thing down while you're not wearing them.

• Like 1

My first guard to glove glue attempt was a fail too. CA leaked all over the place, over my masking tape. No way I could get any off. However all the rubber (glove) did peel off the hand guards. Totally destroyed the gloves, but at $5- that was an acceptable sacrifice. 

Rip them off and start again....

I did mine one side at a time, and used the glue a little more sparingly.

• Like 1

The handguards must be thrown out- please send them to me for disposal!  

Like the comments above, same here.  First attempt was E-6000.   They did not stick at all and fell off.  Second attempt with different glue I used WAY too much glue and I had a big mess of dried glue all over the gloves.  Cut the gloves out and re-glued the handguards on another pair with about half the glue- success on the third try! 

We need to find us some thin leather gloves to use Andrew- it's going to be hot this summer!

Edited by Tusken RTT
  • Like 1

Thanks everyone for the help!