What route to blast down?

lantern27451

Hey everyone!  How goes it?

So I (like many a noob) have the whole summer and fall to arm myself.  I of course speak of the time between now and the lovely brown boxes arriving from just south of me via our new friends at Anovos.

I'm a pretty handy guy (to have in a fight),and want to craft an ANH E-11 to go with my armor.

So I put it to you, dear afficianados, what route should I take.

Some background;  I build things.  Big things, stupid things, cool things.  What ever I can.  I'm a machinist, but can't get machine time at work...  Yet.  A buddy has a 3D printer at work, but it's older and again time on it may be fleeting.

I've read just about every thread dealing with just about every manner of E-11 replica.  Resin, rubber, 3D printed or demilled.

I'd love to go the demilled route.  I figure at the least, I could cast parts off of it.  (I also will be responsible for building 4 other blasters.)

Buying a 3D printer is also something I'm toying with.  The wife said not now, but not no.

The resin kits out there are getting scary good.  But for what I think it would cost for 5, I could buy that printer.

A demill is affordable, in so much as I could use it to make more of them.  Though I would still need a scope, power cylinder and counter so I wouldn't be completely self sufficient. But who is these days?

What to do, what to do?

Bounce ideas off me my dear brothers in armor.  Sisters too.

- Jeff in Green Bay

Edited by lantern2745

The DoopyDoo resin kits are like $100 shipped to US.  No way are you going to get a "good" 3D printer for $500.

Of course, getting your HANDS on 5 resin kits is going to be hard.  I'm still trying to get one.  Last time they came in stock, I was asleep for the 2 hours they were available.

I'm not sure what "demilled" means, so there's that, and it might be a perfectly reasonable way to go. (:

Well, you gotta pay between 150 and 230 dollars for a demilled sterling, if you can get one.