CAP/CAP-West From the Horse's Mouth

Greetings fellow and future Legioneers. For many many moons rumors and legends have risen about CAP and CAP-West, the men, the myths, the legends. But like any myth or legend fact soon gives way to fiction. Folk have been reading warnings of, "Stay away from ebay" and seeing words like "Recaster", many have no idea what it means, they accept it as truth. I have been witnessing for many years Legioneers in staffing roles giving poor advice to individuals regarding certain costumes they themselves are unfamiliar with. These days a prospective member has little knowledge of what may be screen accurate, legion acceptable, or otherwise. Questions arise and rumors are spread.

Today's market value for Trooper Armor is based largely on the groundwork laid by men like CAP. Once upon a time trooper armor kits were selling at around 1K. In those days promises of "Three weeks lead time" were greatly exagerated, even to the point of 7 Months. There were guys taking money and never delivering! Many a trooper had been burned by guys who took money and promised goods but never came through. We were shedding our FX crysalis and moving toward a better future but we had obstacles to overcome.

CAP began his enjoyment of the hobby with a 2005 TE Sandtrooper armor and correspondence with a fellow by the handle of "Meatsock". At this time many of us had been reading books by various authors, Thurston James for example, the book of molding and casting. Books on forming plastics. We shared in this enjoyment of "how things work" and we applied it.

I will stop here and we will begin learning what CAP was and what CAP-West is.

cHPc0Ha.jpg

Edited by gmrhodes13
photo updated gmrhodes13 2021

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic