Halloween, the good, the bad and the amazing!

vicsouders

Apparently I had forgotten that Halloween is on the same date every year, so with about 2 weeks till the big event I rushed to get my armor together.

The bad: I’m not sure how ATA and I are going to get along. Don’t get me wrong, I think it looks great and it’s easy to work with, but I’m not sure it’s the right type armor for me. As I wrote in another post, I have a really strange shape. First, I was a pretty serious amateur body builder for years. Even though I quit working out years ago, I still pretty big (at least that’s what people tell me; I’m small compared to what I used to be.) I had to shim every piece of the ATA. For Halloween I installed the shims with Velcro on both sides so that I could remove them and tweak the shims correctly later. I didn’t put any cover strips on the back-facing pieces of armor for simplicity, I didn’t get it painted (yet)and I need a few other tweaks. Another thing, I’m 6’1â€, but have a 30 inch inseam. My torso is amazingly long! I never noticed my freakishness until I put my mannequin together and it looked strange. I measured, re-measured, and measured again…even my girlfriend measured. The proportions were correct. So I have these short, tree-trunk legs and a long upper body. I HAD to cut the cod beneath the belt so that the abs could rise up almost three inches (with the cod still protecting my “stuffâ€) and sit under the chest plate. Which, brings me to the back; there is NO WAY the back and kidney armor even come close together or ever will. So, all in all it’s time for me to get some AM (and modify my MRCE).