AKER + Rom/fx

Sorry if this is a really stupid question but I am not good at all when it comes to electronics. I am planning to add sound to my AP when I have built it and have done lots of research on here about all the different set ups. I have decided to play it simple and go for the AKER voice amp. Does the Rom/fx plug into the aker to give you the static burst or is the Rom/fx a voice amp on it's own? Like I said, sorry to ask such a noob question.

Rob.

the rom fx is an amp on it's own. but people have used that in an aker setup no problem. just using one of the inputs on the aker.

and the other for an mp3 player, for some radio chatter.

So, if I get a rom/fx, is that every thing I need? ,Speaker, mic etc. Thank you for your help.

First, let me say that i am biased toward aker amps. I own and use both a romFX and a hyperdyne. The RomFX does amplify and can output to an un-powered speaker. I instead output to an aker amp. I run the RomFX at 30% volume and the Aker amp at 60% volume. The aker gives me better volume control and a LOT more volume. I know of many people who upgrade to a Aker amp with their RomFX.

With the hyperdyne you have to have a powered amp/speaker.

• 2 weeks later...

First, let me say that i am biased toward aker amps. I own and use both a romFX and a hyperdyne. The RomFX does amplify and can output to an un-powered speaker. I instead output to an aker amp. I run the RomFX at 30% volume and the Aker amp at 60% volume. The aker gives me better volume control and a LOT more volume. I know of many people who upgrade to a Aker amp with their RomFX.

With the hyperdyne you have to have a powered amp/speaker.

Jim, is there a minimum distance you need to keep between the RomFX board and Aker speaker/amp to avoid feedback? I currently own a Aker MR1506 (love it!), and I'm considering buying a RomFX and pairing the two.