A newbie with questions

Hello everyone! I've finally decided to fulfill my boyhood (and admittedly adulthood) dreams and try out to be a trooper! And after the last 5 hours of reading the boards here, trying to learn all the new acronyms, checking out links and generally trying to get an initial trooping crash course under my belt, I've resigned to the fact I need to ask a few questions before I'm too in over my head and make some costly mistakes.

• Firstly, please know I'm dismal with anything remotely involving any kind of skill in the arts of armor making. I'm an systems admin by profession, and I have absolutely zero creative ability in just about everything but computers. So knowing that, please take pitty on me. :)
  • Second I'm a big guy. 6' 2"ish and about 215 lbs

So taking those things into account AND the fact that I can barley make a paper airplane I need your advice.

I would like to buy my armor. I know it's against the spirit of the entire trooping movement for a lot of you. You take pride in your work, and rightfully so! But I unfortunately dont have that option, so I hope you'll be forgiving :)

My major question is, I understand that SDS cant send anything to the states, however IF I had a way around that - is the armor and hero helmet worth the price, keeping in mind my lack of options and deep desire to get my trooping on. Is it 501 approved? I would hate to spend all that cash on something like this only to be stuck not being able to troop without extensive mods.

So far that and this guy on ebay (I know, I know E-BAY BAD) those are the only two options that I'm finding that I can purchase outright and fulfill this dream of mine :)

Your suggestions and opinions are welcome, and I'm sorry if this exact thing has been posted a billion times before, I honestly searched high and low for the answers but might not have seen the forest for the trees.

Hey Patrick!