First time Hasbro E-11 Doopy conversion - tips appreciated!

Greenlight711

Hey all,

As a new builder, I thought it might be helpful to document my adventure and hopefully get some sage advice along the way. So here goes!

I'll start with my thought process as to how I ended up here. After some research on different types of E-11 builds out there, I decided that I wanted:

• Something of relative ease for a novice (I'm doing this primarily to build my skillset before receiving my Anovos TK kit later in the year)
  • Could be constructed with limited space/resources
  • Light and not too fragile for future trooping
  • Had electronics/sound (even if it's not the best)

Taking all of that into consideration, the classic Hasbro mod seemed to be the best choice. I sourced a nice 1996 Hasbro from eBay with everything in working order, and I also lucked out on a Doopydoos restock and got a conversion kit relatively quickly.

jIfPFFul.jpg

Even though the electronics of the Hasbro worked pretty well, one of the primary mods I wanted to do was replace the LED with something bigger and brighter. So, one of the first things I needed to do was crack the gun open. I started off by trying to pry off the ends of the scope with a flat end screwdriver (the results of my early foolhardy efforts are clear in the picture), until I landed upon a more sophisticated method of adding a hammer to the mix. The hammer worked very well for generally loosening it up; for the more stubborn parts of the scope with tons of fused glue, I switched out to an exacto knife which helped really dig into the crevices.

m3u8xVwl.jpg Fn6UujRl.jpg 4NbvOsal.jpg

For the scope and barrel tips, I used a dremel that I borrowed from a coworker. It made short work to the plastic, and bonus: the LED still worked!

qFuvkM4l.jpg

After a few hours of work, I was able to get everything out with relatively no damage to the gun. I got pretty lucky, and it came apart without much issue.