Echostatic

Hello from Texas

Hello all, I’m glad I can finally use the forum, I found it recently and was getting “website offline” errors all over the place before today.

I’ve wanted a set of stormtrooper armor for years, I always thought it looked amazing when I would see people wearing it at the movie premiers. Well yesterday I went to an anime convention and seeing everyone in their costumes just pushed me over the edge, so I’m planning to take the plunge. 

Ive been reading and watching videos, trying to see what all goes into building something like this. It definitely looks like a big project and I’ve never done anything like it before. We’ve got a garage full of tools though, so I should have a lot of what I need. I’m just looking at different vendors now, currently leaning towards RS Propmasters. 

Hello and welcome Andrew! Yes the forums had some downtime due to server migration issues last week.

You're on the right track looking at the list of vetted sellers. Also ensure that the armour you purchase is a good match with your body type. Let us know if there's anything else we can help you with! Once you get started with your build, start a build thread in the appropriate subforum.

Welcome aboard, Andrew. :-)

You’re correct that it is a big project, however it’s a REALLY rewarding one!! Building it is great, then getting to troop with amazing people and bring smiles to adults and kids is even better. :-)

Here’s some handy links to start you on your way.

https://www.whitearmor.net/forum/forum/38-getting-started-read-this-first/

https://www.whitearmor.net/forum/topic/11538-the-various-types-of-armor-and-where-to-find-them/

The key to building a kit is research, patience and asking lots of questions. Many of us had never build costumes before our first TK armour, but with help from fellow troopers it can be very achievable.