Spring chamber and movie accuracy (being true to the source material or giving a personal touch?)

Retrodai

So a lot of builds I've seen usually go the realistic route, creating Blasters as close to the original Sterling as possible. This is my first build in preparation for the armor (mostly to gather the courage to get started) and I've tried to the best of my abilities to modify my doopydoo beyond just assembling and painting. But I'm not sure how to proceed with the spring chamber. I've bought some wire to be able to make the realistic modification, but I have this idea to just fill the whole chamber completely with a plastic pipe instead. The reason being that I'm not too keen on the realistic approach... at least not that specific part... it's supposed to be a futuristic rifle after all... secondly, if I go with my plastic pipe idea I might be able to pull off a movable charging handle, which might be neat. I know, it's possible to do a workable handle with spring and all, but I feel it's a bit above my skill level.

Now I've read the custome reference guide and the only thing stated for basic approval is:

Based on a real or replica Sterling sub-machine gun, scratch-built, or a modified commercial toy Stormtrooper blaster.

So I assume a gun with no spring is acceptable.

I would like to get some input. What is the general opinion on this? Is a bit of personal flavour to the gun accepted within the community (I'm talking basic approval here, this isn't a gun meant for centurion application) or is it shunned upon and preferably I should just do the regular spring chamber and follow conformity?

Edited by Retrodai

If you have a Doopydoo's kit, the possibilities are endless...  it all depends on how much time you would like to invest, and money, of course!  Waiting on your armor kit is the perfect time to work on your blaster, and you can re-use many of the tools.