Darth Aloha

HOWTO: Use Novus Plastic Polish 1,2, and 3 (ah ah ah I love counting!)

DSC_26831.jpg

Troopers,

I can't decide if I am going to let my armor weather or stay as shiny as possible. In the mean time while I waffle, I managed to nail my leg on a green picnic table and scuff up my shin with a big green scrape. I decided to order small bottles of Novus plastic polish to test it out.

It saddens me to admit that I am a terrible photographer. Even this stupid big fancy camera from work can't help me out. My plan was to take detailed photos of the dirt, grime and scratches on my shins. Well it turns out that taking pictures of big expanses of shiny white plastic is not easy. This means my "before" photos suck.

Here's the headline: Novus 1, 2, and 3 can take scratches out unless they're very very deep. Use a crapload of elbow greece at every step. Keep your polishing cloth saturated at all times.

You'll need a soft lint free cloth. An overly washed cotton cloth is preferable but if you can find a very thick soft paper towel, that may work too. I used an old newborn sized onsie with an animal print (the monkeys are really cute.)

The steps go something like this:

1. Clean with plastic with Novus #1 "Plastic Clean and Shine" - Wipe vigorously to clean as much of the crap off the plastic as possible. I used my thumb to really grind the cloth on some spots. Keep applying #1 to the cloth.
  2. Remove big stuff with Novus #3 "Heavy Scratch Remover" - This stuff is basically rubbing compound like you would use on your car. There is a grit to it and it actually removes plastic like liquid sandpaper. I am pretty sure if you used a slow moving buffing wheel on a dremel you could take some pretty deep scratches out. I just pressed really really hard and most of the scratches went away. I worked in patches swirling the cloth around in tight circles while applying pressure.